Wednesday, July 22, 2009

License to practice Dentistry in Florida


An applicant shall be entitled to take the examination required in this section to practice dentistry in Florida if he/she:

•Is 18 years of age or older;
•Is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association or its successor agency, if any, or any other nationally recognized accrediting agency; or is a dental student in the final year of a program at such an accredited school who has completed all the coursework necessary to prepare the student to perform the clinical and diagnostic procedures required to pass the examinations. With respect to a dental student in the final year of a program at a dental school, a passing score on the examinations is valid for 180 days after the date the examinations were completed. A dental school student who takes the licensure examinations during the student’s final year of an approved dental school must have graduated before being certified for licensure pursuant to s. 466.011, F.S.;
•Has successfully completed the American Dental Association National Board of Dental Examiners dental examination, Parts I and II, within 10 years of the date of application. If scores are older than ten years, must retake clinical examination (Part II).
If an applicant is a graduate of a dental college or school not accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of American Dental Association or of a dental college or school not approved by the board, he shall not be entitled to take the examination required in this section to practice dentistry until he/she:

•Completes a program of study, as defined by the board by rule, at an accredited American dental school and demonstrates receipt of a D.D.S. or D.M.D. from said school; or
•Completes a 2-year supplemental dental education program at an accredited dental school and receives a dental diploma, degree, or certificate as evidence of program completion. Refer to Rule 64B5-2.0146, F.A.C. for clarification.
Once qualified, an applicant must successfully complete the following to be licensed as a dentist in this state:

•A written examination on the laws an rules of the state regulating the practice of dentistry;
•A practical or clinical examination, which shall be administered and graded by dentists licensed in this state and employed by the department for just such purpose.
*The practical examination shall include:

•Two restorations, and the board by rule shall determine the class of such restorations and whether they shall be performed on mannequins, live patients. or both. At least one restoration shall be on a live patient;
•A demonstration of periodontal skills on a live patient.
•A demonstration of prosthetics and restorative skills in complete and partial dentures and crowns and bridges and the utilization of practical methods of evaluation, specifically including the evaluation by the candidate of completed laboratory products such as, but not limited to, crowns and inlays filled to prepared model teeth.
•A demonstration of restorative skills on a mannequin which requires the candidate to complete procedures performed in preparation for a cast restoration; and
•A demonstration of endodontic skills.
If the applicant fails to pass the clinical examination in three attempts, he/she shall not be eligible for reexamination unless he/she completes additional educational requirements established by the board.

•The board may by rule provide for additional procedures which are to be tested, provided such procedures shall be common to the practice of general dentistry. The board by rule shall determine the passing grade for each procedure and the acceptable variation for examiners.


1 comment:

  1. Aside from that, they would also be required to take dental continuing education from time to time. It is a great way actually, to make sure that people who are in this profession are updated with the new and old dental technology and procedures.